Wikipedia Contribution for Feminists 101

I recently made my first contribution to the Wikipedia page “Feminism and media”.  I chose to contribute to this specific page because I thought it needed some positive information.  Under the social media section of the page you will find:

“In addition, celebrities such as Emma Watson have also taken a pro-feminist stance through social media. In 2014, the UN Women’s Ambassador stated,” I am from Britain and think it is right that as a woman I am paid the same as my male counterparts. I think it is right that I should be able to make decisions about my own body. I think it is right that women be involved on my behalf in the policies and decision-making of my country. I think it is right that socially I am afforded the same respect as men. But sadly I can say that there is no one country in the world where all women can expect to receive these rights.”[9] Her speech also goes into depth about the negative connotation the word feminist has because of social media and how we as a society can take a stand for gender equality.”

Link to Emma Watson’s speech

Leave a Reply

